The New Ten Commandments

The New Ten Commandments is a unique multi-director documentary film created to celebrate the 60th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

It is the first film ever to be made about Human Rights in Scotland.

Producers Nick Higgins & Noémie Mendelle gathered together some of the most accomplished Scottish filmmakers and artists to each contribute their distinct artistic vision to understanding rights in Scotland today. Artists such as Douglas Gordon, Irvine Welsh and Tilda Swinton, collaborated with filmmakers Mark Cousins, Kenny Glenaan, Nick Higgins, Sana Bilgrami, Alice Nelson, Doug Aubrey, David Graham Scott and Anna Jones.

Co-produced with the Scottish Documentary Institute, the film was funded by BBC Scotland, Scottish Screen & the Scottish Arts Council.

The individual films are now also available as part of the Learning Through Film package.
Learning through Film: Human Rights in Scotland

The 10 film chapters of the Ten Commandments:

The Right to Freedom of Assembly Director, David Graham Scott

The Right not to Be Enslaved Director, Nick Higgins

The Right to a Fair Trial Director, Sana Bilgrami

The Right to Freedom of Expression Director, Doug Aubrey

The Right to Life Director, Kenny Glenaan

The Right to Liberty Directors, Irvine Welsh & Mark Cousins

The Right not to be Tortured Director, Douglas Gordon

The Right to Asylum Director, Anna Jones

The Right to Privacy Director, Alice Nelson

The Right to Freedom of Thought Directors, Mark Cousins & Tilda Swinton